Minutes from Meeting 3:30-5:00 pm Rooms 2102 (Bloomington) and 3138B (Indianapolis)

<u>Members Present:</u> Alexander McCormick, Brendan Maxcy, Erik Tillema, Chad Christensen, Kelzie Beebe, Mary McMullen, Sam Museus

Ex-Officio Present: Annela Teemant, Elizabeth Boling

<u>Members Absent:</u> Ghangis Carter, Sandra Strain, John Hitchcock, Scott Bellini, Marjorie Manifold

Staff: Matthew Boots, Jezreel McMillen, Liyao Zhao

Presenter: Margaret Sutton

- I. Review and Approval of Minutes from September 30, 2015
 - Mary McMullen moved to approve the minutes from September 30, 2015, as presented.
 - > Chad Christensen seconded the motion.
 - > All in favor.

II. Discussion Items

A. Policy on Re-application to Programs following Academic Dismissal

The second item of business was discussion on the Policy on Re-application to Programs following Academic Dismissal. Boling reported that she had learned from the college that once a student is dismissed from the university for academic reasons (poor performance), that student can never apply to that same program again, and must wait a full year before he or she can reapply to a different program within the college. Boling then asked whether the SOE should have a concrete policy regarding this issue, and whether it was unethical to let them apply given the student had failed out of the program beforehand. There was general agreement that there should be a policy; that a one-year removal is too short and a five-year removal is too long; that there should be a personal statement written by the reapplying student as to what factors have changed in their suitability for the program; and that there should be greater accountability on the part of faculty to help doctoral students graduate on time. There will be specific proposals presented at future meetings.

B. MSEd in International and Comparative Education Program Review

The third item of business was a program review of the MSEd in International and Comparative Education. Margaret Sutton reported and fielded questions on this item.

Sutton reported that since 1997, the program has become quite small (it now consists of four people). About half are enrolled in the doctoral program as well. Many of the students, she added, aspire to work at the university level as staff in the international program departments. There were three overarching recommendations for the program moving forward: 1) achieve a better web presence, which the program is completing; 2) recognize the importance of internships for masters students, already a strength in the program; and 3) doing more online courses, which Sutton admitted the program could do more to execute.

The chair asked Sutton to prepare a short statement summarizing the review's recommendations and the program's responses (appended to these minutes).

C. Beechler Award Committee

Brendan Maxcy moved to the Dissertation of the Year Award, which is available to students on both IUB and IUPUI campuses, whereas the Beechler Award is available only to IUB students. Alexander McCormick joined the Beechler Award committee to replace Maxcy. Sam Museus volunteered to chair the Beechler Award committee.